Tim's Triple Play Edition #6 - Are You Squeezing The Toothpaste Tube Too Hard? Winning vs. Not Losing! Raw Talent vs. Passion!

Happy Friday! I hope you've been having a great week so far! Welcome to Edition #6 of Tim's Triple Play. 

Not subscribed yet? That's ok, you can click here when you are ready to join us!

Let's get in to it!

Business

My son LOVES to bug me about this post/video and tells all his friends all about it! I stand by the value in this post, and can take some ribbing from the under 10 crowd. Click here to watch the video version.

Are You Squeezing The Toothpaste Tube Too Hard?

I planned a Saturday golf game with my friends in the spring of 2013. I was very excited because it was my first game of the year, and I really needed some time to unwind with the guys.

I ended up shooting one of the top 10 games of my life. I reflected that evening on why I had done so well, and there was a very simple answer. I was relaxed. I had only played two rounds of golf all winter, so my expectations were low. I just wanted to have fun, and did not think about scoring.

I started well, and kept the momentum going throughout the entire round. Typically (due to my infrequent play) I will have a great front nine, then a rough back nine, or vice versa. But this game was consistent throughout. I still had some bad shots, but was able to recover quickly.

With my golf game, relaxation and good shots breed confidence. I heard a humorous golf analogy many years ago and I often think of it when I am struggling.

Pretend the golf club is a tube of toothpaste. What happens when you squeeze the tube of toothpaste too hard?

Well of course too much toothpaste comes out!

If you are squeezing the golf club too hard, inevitably you are going to make more bad shots than normal.

What happens if you have a bad day of sales calls, or perhaps a bad week or month in general?

We all have confidence and feel great when things are going well; that is the easy part. The true test of character is how we respond when things don’t go our way.Sales people and golfers need to have short memories. If you are “squeezing the tube of toothpaste too hard" on your sales calls and during the sales process, things may not go according to plan. 

If you feel under pressure to close more sales, you may “squeeze the entire tube of toothpaste” out on each call! You press, you are not yourself, your presentations and discussions have no flow, and you are off your game in general.

I asked my friends about their golf game that day last spring, and they said that it was not uncommon to have 10-15 stroke swings from one nine-hole round to the next. It proves that we have the ability to bounce back if we stay focused and regain confidence.

As usual, I watched the Master’s Golf tournament in April of 2011, and it was more exciting than normal. There were 7-8 golfers in the hunt until the last few holes. I am always amazed how golfers can keep outside distractions to a minimum and just focus on the next shot. Their focus is superhero-like, and they handle pressure remarkably well.

Rory Mcllroy was in first place after three rounds, the proceeded to shoot the worst final round in Master’s history. After the last round he said that he will learn from the experience and knows that he will be in the running for many more major championships down the road. His positive attitude was impressive.

To show his resilience, he came back at the next major tournament (U.S. Open) and destroyed the competition by nearly 10 shots. That is an incredible example of putting a negative experience in the past, learning from it, and moving on quickly.Sales and golf have many similarities which I look forward to exploring more in the future. Relaxation, confidence and a general sense that you will excel are all keys factors while “working” on the golf course and in a sales territory.

  • Do you find that you are "squeezing the tube of toothpaste too hard" in your sales or business role?

  • If you are struggling right now reflect back to when things were going very well, and you were full of confidence. Make notes about those times, and do more of that

  • What factors contribute to these feeling "invading your body", and making things more difficult in the field than they should be?

Sports

Winning vs. Not Losing - There's A Big Difference

When I first heard this statement with respect to a professional sports team’s play, I stopped in my tracks. On the surface, it seems like the same concept spun two different ways. Or is it?

Playing to win exudes confidence.

There is nothing that can get in the way of the team and victory. They execute the game plan to perfection, and do whatever it takes to achieve their goals. Mistakes may still happen, but they get back on track in a timely fashion. It is clear in their body language that nothing less than success will be accepted by everyone.

On the other hand, the team playing not to lose exudes tentativeness.

Their primary goal is to not make mistakes and look foolish in front of teammates and coaches. In their minds, if they don’t make any mistakes, they should win. On paper that makes sense. Those who follow sports hear this often, but if the other team plays an all round better game, you will still lose. Body language supports the theory that they are just trying not to screw up, and it shows.

Take a moment and step back to think about your current sales or business role.

Do you always feel like you are on top of your “game” and nothing can stop you?

If you do, congratulations! If we are honest with ourselves, most of us go through phases when we lack confidence and just feel like everything we touch turns in to…. well not gold.

Do you notice when things are going well, mistakes and other challenges in your role do not take as big a tole on you?

It seems no matter the size of the setback, you can move past it in record time.

Now turn the tables.

When things are not going well, and confidence is low, even the little things seem like huge issues. The world seems to be against you, and it is nearly impossible to get out of the funk.

Are you playing to win, or playing not to lose?

  • Are you afraid to make mistakes, and worry how it will look to teammates and management?

  • Or do you understand that mistakes happen, learn from them, and move on as quickly as possible?

  • Do you approach your role everyday with confidence, a bounce in your step, and the mindset of “I can do this”?

  • Or do you plod along as you always have, do the same things that you have always done, and just try not to screw up?

I have experienced both of these mindsets playing sports, and throughout my career. One feels so much better than the other!

“Playing not to lose” is a career limiting decision (CLD). You will feel safe, and your results may be consistent, but your true potential will not be achieved. If you just sit back and watch, you will witness others getting all the glory!

“Playing to win” is a mindset. The Montreal Canadians, New York Yankees, New England Patriots & Manchester United have not won all of those champions with the attitude of playing just to survive.

Playing to win is imperative in anything that you do.

It is an attitude that should make you feel unstoppable throughout your career.

Music

I wrote this article in 2013 after seeing Van Halen in Edmonton, Canada. David Lee Roth was back with the guys again. I was thrilled to see the original band, but as much as I love Wolfie, it was not the same without Michael Anthony on bass. Disclaimer - I am a HUGE Eddie Van Halen fan, but for the purpose of this article, I had to "pick a side" in the ongoing saga of the Mighty VH. I still can't believe he is gone. :-(

Raw Talent vs. Passion - And The Winner Is...

I went to a Van Halen concert a couple of years ago, and it sucked!

It was a huge letdown after waiting 28 years to see the first incarnation of the band, and I won’t be seeing them again, EVER! If you are not a Van Halen fan that is ok, this is a broader message than just about their music.

I had wanted to see The Van Halen brothers with David Lee Roth since I first heard of them as an eleven year old in 1984. I am still not sure how I was able to convince my parents to buy me a cassette tape with a baby smoking on the cover!

The show did not come close to meeting my expectations.

Would they have been incredible if I had seen them in late 1984 or early 1985 before they broke up? I have a hunch it would have been amazing. But this was 2012, and it seemed like a job to them, and they had to be there. There was no chemistry between David Lee Roth and Eddie Van Halen, and they just seemed to be going through the motions.

The hastily introduced “Jump” as the last song and did not even come out for an encore! News broke a week later that they had cancelled their summer tour. Allegedly there was serious infighting within the band. Other reports were saying that fatigue has been an issue for band members, and the tour would take up to two years. They were taking precautions not to burn out.

Rewind to 2004 when Van Halen was touring with Sammy Hagar once again, and Michael Anthony was still playing bass. It was my birthday, and I had an incredible time at that concert. The band was in synch, they were having a great time, and Sammy was signing autographs for the fans in the front row. There were already rumours surfacing that Sammy and Ed were not getting along, but I did not get that sense that fall evening in Edmonton, Canada.

Eddie Van Halen is one of the greatest guitarists ever, but I have never gotten the warm and fuzzies off him. Sammy is not a guitar playing or singing virtuoso, but is an above average musician and vocalist. What he lacks in raw talent, he more than makes up for with passion and love for his “career”, and the fans that have supported him for over 40 years.

Sammy Hagar and Michael Anthony have formed a new band named Chickenfoot with Joe Satriani and Chad Smith (from the Red Hot Chili Peppers), and their shows are electric. They are having the time of their lives, and care deeply for those they are performing for.

I had a chance to see the band in Vancouver when my friend was working for them, and I did not go. I am still kicking myself. I hope to see them again in the future. If I had a choice to see Sammy Hagar/Michael Anthony or Eddie Van Halen/David Lee Roth perform one more time in my life, hands down it would be Sammy and Mike. Eddie may play the guitar like no other, but raw talent is not the only criteria where I will spend my hard-earned dollars on. It is on my bucket list to go see Sammy Hagar play in Cabo in Mexico at his birthday bash one year. And that WILL happen. I can’t wait!

How does this all relate to business? You don’t need an “off-the-charts” IQ, or raw talent to achieve massive success. You need to show up regularly though. You have to care about those paying for your products and/or services, and be willing to go “that extra mile” when they need you the most.

The passion that you exude for your audience/customers, the depth that you are willing to go to help them get to where they want, will pay dividends in the long run. I needed Eddie Van Halen and David Lee Roth to “knock it out of the park”, and they let me down.

• What band’s concert have you attended, or company have you “dealt with” that just blew you away?

• On the flip side, what band let you down at their live show, or company disappointed you, and you will never “deal” with them again?

I would love to hear your thoughts!

Extra Innings

This is one of my favourite personal branding videos! I discovered Scott early on during my online journey over 10 years ago! You'll laugh and learn for the full 18:16 minutes of this video. Click here to watch!

If you are enjoying reading Tim's Triple Play, please share it with a colleague, family member or friend. What the heck please share it with all three. Ha ha!It would mean the world to me as we continue to grow and learn together. Click here to share the subscribe link.

Any questions about this edition? Please reply to this email.

Any requested content that you'd like to see in a future edition? Please reply to this email as well.

Have a great weekend and thanks as always for reading!

Copyright (C) Tim Mushey 2022. All rights reserved.