Tim's Triple Play Edition #8 - Why Can't I Find You Online? Goals, Goals Goals & My Favourite Music Super Group!

Happy Friday! I'm glad to be back here, after missing new editions of my newsletter for the past couple of weeks. I got bitten by a nasty cold and a few other things came up, and I was not able to pull anything together!But I'm back now and happy to catch up with you all!

Business

I spend a lot of time researching websites and social media profiles to see who is doing a FANTASTIC job providing exposure for their brands.

Unfortunately, not everyone is rockin’ it in this area, and I want to make sure that this critical social media strategy is not overlooked going forward.

One area that really stands out for me is the ease that I can find social media “connect” buttons on a website or blog. I find that my eyes often focus on the top of the page, and many key people that I follow put them there, or somewhere on the first page of content. On the flip side, many people bury their social media connect buttons deep in to their website, and I have to go digging to find them. If I really like what they are doing, I will dig, but typically not – it is much to time-consuming.

What I am going stress next may seem obvious, kind of “Intro To Social Media”, but humour me for a minute.

The more opportunities that you give people to connect with you, the greater the change that they actually will! People tend to be too busy, many are looking for the shortcut, and want the easiest ways to connect possible. So why not give them many opportunities to do so?

Here are some places that I make sure that I promote other places that people can connect with me:

Twitter Profile – Insert a link in the space provided under the tag line where you would like people to land and discover more about you.

LinkedIn Profile – There is a place on the template to include other social media profile links (and links to websites & blogs).

Facebook Fan Page Profile – Under the “About Page”, there are fields to include an email address, other accounts (which includes Twitter), and websites.

YouTube – Under the “About Page”, there is a “Links” section. You can add social media and website info there.

Pinterest Profile – There is a place to put your website link, but you can choose another social media link if you don’t have a website or blog.

LinkedIn “Thanks For Connecting Note” – Many people that I connect with gets a “Thanks For Connecting” note. I always ask people where else I can connect with them, and provide the links to where they can connect with me. A shout out to Paul Castain for drilling this in to my head early in my online journey! You can check out Paul’s incredible work at http://yoursalesplaybook.com/

At The End Of Blog Posts – This is a great place to remind people where else they can connect with you, and give an email address and/or phone number if they have questions, or heck maybe even hire you.

On An Email Signature – I don’t recommend listing 8 places that they can connect with you after your name. That would be a little hard on the eyes. But list a couple of places, and change it up periodically; maybe once per month?

On Social Media Channels – Sounds kind of obvious, but you can Tweet “Hey stop by my website”, or post on Facebook how to connect with you on Twitter. You get the idea.

Good luck getting your content out there, and remember never pass up on an opportunity to tell people all the places that they can find you.

Just a reminder, you can connect with me at all these places through one link:

Sports

I don't watch hockey to see 2-1 games, ya know the defensive battles. I watch hockey to see GOALS. Growing up in the 80's I became accustom to watching high scoring non-stop action. Although it's not quite like that these days, scoring is quite prevalent, and it's been fun to watch this year.

Alex Ovechkin just scored his 800th goal this week, and now has Wayne Gretzky's 894 goals in his sights to break the all time record.

His secret? He just scores. Consistently year after year and stays healthy. He's passionate, cares deeply for his team and brings it every night. It will be exciting to see if he can break this record in the next 2-3 years. I think he will.

Click here to see my favourite Ovechkin goal from way back in 2006. Not many players could pull this off, but he sure could. Just amazing!

Music

I've been playing a lot of music lately from Super Groups. One in particular caught my eye called the The Dead Daisies! If you like straight up rock I think you will like this. There is a lot online if you want to check them out.But I've had this on constant repeat a couple of times this week. I never get tired of this band AND this song. Enjoy some Temple Of The Dog when you have a moment. Pearl Jam meets Soundgarden what could be better.

Click here for Hunger Strike live.

Just a reminder, if you are enjoying this content, feel free to share this link with anyone that may also benefit from my musings. :-)

They can click this link to read previous editions before deciding to join us!

Have a great weekend, and enjoy any preparations you may be doing for the holidays.